Piers Cumberlege

Piers Cumberlege

Chair, Straightview Intl.

Piers Cumberlege has had an international career working in and with multi-national corporations, private equity, governments and civil society organisations across Asia, Europe, Africa and North America.  Currently Vice-Chair of the Investment Committee of Global Sustainable Capital Management; Head of UK for professional services firm All You Need for Growth; Director of global sustainability consultancy South Pole Group. Formerly Head of Partnership at the World Economic Forum. 

Piers has significant experience in Sustainable Economic Development. He was Head of Direct Investments at Moscow-based Delta Capital, managing a large multi-sector portfolio.  More recently he co-managed the Canada Investment Fund for Africa. In 2009 he established an SME social venture fund in West Africa.

Piers has a strong personal engagement in civil society: formerly Director of CARE Canada, Chair of CARE Enterprise Partners; currently Investment Committee of Engineers Without Borders; advises and participates in Crossroads Foundation’s A Day in the Life of a Refugee simulation.

MA Oxford, business degree Coventry & GEC, ICD.D McGill/ICD.  Speaks a number of languages.  Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Canada.

Piers Cumberlege

Piers Cumberlege

Président, Straightview Intl.

Piers Cumberlege a mené une carrière internationale, travaillant avec ou pour des multinationales, des sociétés de placement de capitaux privés, des gouvernements et des organisations de la société civile en Asie, en Europe, en Afrique et en Amérique du Nord. Il est actuellement vice-président du comité des investissements de Global Sustainable Capital Management, chef du cabinet de services professionnels All You Need for Growth pour le Royaume-Uni et directeur de la société de conseil sur la durabilité mondiale South Pole Group. Il était auparavant chef des partenariats au Forum économique mondial.

M. Cumberlege possède une vaste expérience en développement économique durable. Il a été à la tête de l’équipe des investissements directs de Delta Capital à Moscou, où il gérait un important portefeuille multisectoriel. Plus récemment, il a codirigé le Fonds d’investissement du Canada pour l’Afrique. En 2009, il a mis sur pied une PME, un fonds de capital-risque à but social en Afrique de l’Ouest.

M. Cumberlege a un profond engagement personnel envers la société civile : ancien administrateur de CARE Canada et président de CARE Enterprises, il préside aujourd’hui le comité des investissements d’Ingénieurs sans frontières et apporte son savoir-faire à la simulation « une journée dans la peau d’un réfugié » de Crossroads Foundation.

Il est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès arts de l’Université d’Oxford et d’un diplôme en administration et du GEC de l’Université de Coventry, et a obtenu son titre IAS.A auprès de l’Université McGill et de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés. Il maîtrise plusieurs langues et a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II au Canada.