John Hendra

John Hendra

Former UN Assistant Secretary-General

John Hendra recently retired from the United Nations after a dynamic 32-year career as a development leader and reformer. His most recent position was as UN Assistant Secretary-General (ASG) helping the UN Development System become more “fit for purpose” to support implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Before that he served as UN ASG and Deputy Executive Director at UN Women (2011-14) and as UN Resident Coordinator and UNDP Resident Representative in Vietnam (2006-2011), Tanzania (2002-2006) and Latvia (1993-1997). He has published articles on various development issues including SDG financing, a “theory of change” for making the UN development system fit to support the 2030 agenda and the role of men and boys in achieving gender equality.

He’s served as a Yale World Fellow (2009) and was awarded the Three Star Order of Latvia (1997) and Vietnam’s Friendship Medal (2011) in recognition of his contributions in those countries. John has an MA in Development Studies from the University of Toronto and an Honours BA from Queen’s University.

John Hendra

John Hendra

Ancien Sous-secrétaire général adjoint de l'ONU

John Hendra a récemment pris sa retraite des Nations Unies après une carrière dynamique de 32 ans en tant que leader du développement et réformateur. Sa position la plus récente était celle de sous-Secrétaire général de l'ONU (ASG), qui aidait le système de développement des Nations Unies à devenir plus «apte à l'emploi» pour soutenir la mise en œuvre des Objectifs de développement durable (ODDs).

Avant cela, il a été directeur exécutif adjoint à l’ONU femmes (2011-14) et coordonnateur résident des Nations Unies et représentant résident du PNUD au Vietnam (2006-2011), en Tanzanie (2002-2006) et en Lettonie (1993-1997). Il a publié des articles sur diverses questions de développement, y compris le financement des SDG, une «théorie du changement» pour rendre le système de développement de l'ONU apte à soutenir l'ordre du jour 2030 et le rôle des hommes et des garçons dans la réalisation de l'égalité des sexes.

Il a été membre du programme Yale World Fellows (2009) et a reçu l'ordre des trois étoiles de la Lettonie (1997) et la médaille d'amitié du Vietnam (2011) en reconnaissance de ses contributions dans ces pays. John a une maîtrise en études de développement de l'Université de Toronto et un baccalauréat spécialisé de l'Université Queen's.